top of page
Search

Smoke Fire and Family

Inspired by the story of Amelia Earhart, a dedicated and persistent woman.


“Amelia, my dear! It's so good to hear your voice!” “Oh George, I love you! I want to come home as soon as possible. I feel restless, and weary. Oh George, I don’t feel like going on.” “No Amelia, don’t. You are so close, and I don’t want you to give up. You can do this, I know you can.” I know you can. Those four words that changed my life. No man had ever said that to me, not my father, not anyone, but my lovely husband. I sat up straight, pulled the blanket up over my knees,and adjusted by bottle by my side. The engine roared, and the propellers whirled round into a blurry circle. My hands held the control wheel, and I was off. My plane soared through the wind. “All engines are steady and we are off! I repeat that, we are off!” I said into the radio. I swerved up into the air, 30,000 feet above land. I felt alive. I felt free. Growing up my father was never there for me. He never paid attention to me, but at the same time I never felt able to spread my wings and find my place in life. It had been seven years, but I still felt the pain. My mother said he failed me, but I can’t help thinking, what if I failed him. I saw it in his eyes. The world spun around my head, my hands loosened on the control wheel. As I did that my elbow hit the side of my bottle and all the hot coffee came spilling out onto my lap. I jumped up, and smashed my head on the glass. I sat back down as the burn sunk in. Oh my gosh! The plane was plummeting into the sea! Quickly my hands grabbed the control wheel, pulling it up with all my might. The plane was rescued and slowly my heart came to a normal pace again. I heard a sizzle from underneath my feet. “No,” I said to myself. It kept sizzling,”No, no no, no, no.” Coffee had sunk into the engine. The only thing I could do was pray, so I did. “I want to have a family, I want to see George, oh god, please, help me!” The sizzling stopped, it worked! It actually worked. My heart fluttered in relief. All of a sudden I heard a bang. I smelt smoke. My entire body froze, the engine roared up in flames! Smoke filled my lungs, and fear filled my heart. The world became hazy. My eye drooped down. My throat clogged up and I couldn't breath. I grabbed the radio, "Help!" I screamed, but only to realize, I was just mouthing the words.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cuba

What do you think?

I had a sudden burst on inspiration, so I decided to write the first scene of a play, please give me feedback in the comments. Enjoy! SCENE 1 MAMA AVA MAMA AVA walks out onto the stage and slowly plop

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page